top of page

Rev. Malachi Walker

Class of 1977

The Walker Memorial Scholarship

The Walker Memorial Scholarship (WMS) is named after Rev. Malachi Walker (BR Class of1977) in honor of his late daughter, Chanelle Walker-Wells who was murdered by gun violence on July 19, 2008. It is awarded to financially assist college-bound students who show qualities of good character, leadership, and Christian faith.

Candidates should exemplify Christ-centered behavior through volunteer service to church, school, and/or community.


2.5 GPA

Demonstrate financial need


Be able to document community service activities during the year of application. Activity can be with church, community, or school


Actively involved in a church congregation and able to obtain and submit a letter of support from their church pastor


Pursuing an undergraduate degree in Christian ministry, Christian counseling, Christian leadership, Urban ministry, Christian/Community service (CSER), or Criminal Justice. Other majors will be considered at the discretion of the committee. Submit a 1-page essay on How/Why Community Service is Important for the Church.


Malachi has received numerous awards and accolades for his work with youth throughout the City of Indianapolis. A partial list includes the following:

  • Ford Freedom Unsung Hero Award

  • Stopover, Inc. Stew Wood Youth Advocacy Award

  • Indianapolis Fire Department Peer Leadership Award Nominee

  • City County Council Proclamation for Outstanding work with Black Males

  • Indianapolis Fire Department Unit Commendation Award

  • Fox59 Unsung Hero Award

  • Indianapolis Links, Inc. Distinguished Leadership in Public Safety Award

  • Jiffy Lube Gold Good Guy Award

  • Indiana Jefferson Award

  • WRTV Channel 6 Community Leadership Award

  • Mayor Goldsmith Proclamation for Volunteer Leadership

  • Great Commission Church of God Award of Excellence

  • Indianapolis Education Association’s Human Rights Award

  • Mayor Stephen Goldsmith Proclamation

  • Police and Fire Department’s Community Leadership Award

bottom of page